food

Fudge

This is a post written years ago for my old [now neglected] blog. I honestly am the most unorganized person I know so no matter how many times I write down a recipe, I can never find it when I need it. In the years since I originally posted this recipe, I have referred back to my own post countless times while making this for the holidays. I thought I should bring it into the modern age of WordPress. So, without further ado, the best fudge recipe… ever!

1321935588411

As long as I can remember, every year for Christmas and Thanksgiving my mom has made this fudge. One of my favorite things about getting ready for the holidays was fighting with my siblings over who gets to “lick” the bowl. Now that I’m a grown up (*tear), I decided it’s time I make my own. While out at my mom’s on Saturday, I copied down a recipe written on an old, discolored post it note. The was the recipe she had written down years ago while her mom explained how to make it. I love traditions like this.

Ok, enough nostalgia for one post. I’m sure you all just want to find out how to make this fudge anyways! It’s really not too difficult. Most other fudge recipes seem daunting to me when they call for a candy thermometer and such. This was surprisingly easier than I had expected. So, here’s how it’s done!

Ingredients: 

4 1/2 Cups Sugar

1 Can Evaporated Milk

2 Sticks of Butter or Margarine

1 Jar of Marshmallow Cream

18 Ounces Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

1 Teaspoon Vanilla

In a large pot, combine sugar and evaporated milk. Turn stove on medium and stir.

Once sugar has dissolved into milk, add butter. Continue stirring and bring to a rolling boil.

Continue boiling and stirring for 10 minutes.

After 10 minutes of boiling remove from heat and add marshmallow cream. Stir in cream well.

Once cream is mixed evenly, stir in chocolate chips.

Add a teaspoon of Vanilla. Stir until evenly mixed.

Using the wrappers from your two sticks of butter, lightly grease the bottom and edges of your container (a 9×12 works well or a few loaf pans).

Pour in the fudge and let it sit out to cool for a bit. Once it has cooled a bit slice the fudge into bite sized pieces. Then leave in the refrigerator for several hours to set.

Then enjoy! (In moderation, unless you’re hoping to go into a diabetic coma)

PRO-TIP: substitute semisweet chocolate chips with white chocolate, peanut butter or other flavored chocolate chips. Feel free to mix in nuts, toffee or marshmallows to fancy it up as well!
Leave a Reply

